Gloria Anzaldúa, Lavender Rhetorics, and Stonewall Service Award Winners

Beginning in 2014, CCCC began awarding the Stonewall Service Award, which recognizes the service of CCCC members who work to improve the experiences of sexual and gender minority members of CCCC; the Lavender Rhetorics Award for Excellence in Queer Scholarship, which is an annual award to one book, one article, and one dissertation that make queer interventions into composition and rhetoric scholarship; and the Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award, which provides a travel award to presenters at CCCC who are engaged in queer scholarship. A record of past award winners is below.

Stonewall Service Award Winners

Martha Brenckle

Garrett W. Nichols

Qwo-Li Driskill

Lavender Rhetorics Award Winners

Book: Jacqueline Rhodes and Jonathan Alexander. Techne: Queer Meditations on Writing the Self. Computers and Composition Digital Press/Utah State University Press, 2015.
Dissertation: Kathleen Livingston, “The Queer Art & Rhetoric of Consent: Theories, Practices, Pedagogies”

Article: R. Joseph Rodriguez, “There Are Many Rooms.” Pennsylvania Literary Journal 6(1), Spring 2014.
Book: Serkan Gorkemli. Grassroots Literacies: Lesbian and Gay Activism and the Internet in Turkey. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2014.
Dissertation: Garrett Wedekind Nichols, “Rural Drag: Settler Colonialism and the Queer Rhetorics of Rurality”

Article: Eric Darnell Pritchard, “For Queer Kids Who Committed Suicide, Our Outrage Isn’t Enough: Queer Youth of Color, Bullying, and the Discursive Limits of Identity and Safety.” Harvard Educational Review, 2013, 83:2, 320-345.
Dissertation: G Patterson, “Doing Justice: Addressing the LGBTQ-Religious Junction in English Studies”

Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award Winners

Rachel Lewis, Northeastern University
Casey Miles, Michigan State University
Erika M. Sparby, Northern Illinois University

Alexandra J. Cavallaro, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Maria Novotny, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Jon M. Wargo, Michigan State University, East Lansing

Kendall Gerdes, The University of Texas at Austin
Jessica Mason McFadden, Western Illinois University, Macomb
Neil Simpkins, University of Wisconsin-Madison